Faculty – Chicago Private School

Mr. Michael Welton
Principal

mwelton@stphiliplutheran.com

Rev. Thomas Engel
Pastor

tengel@stphiliplutheran.com

Mr. Rick Opperman
Business Manager & Teacher

roppermann@stphiliplutheran.com

Schools Attended

  • Luther High School North, 1978
  • Tool and Die Institute Chicago; Tool and Die Maker Certification, 1985
  • DeVry University; Information Technology, 1988
  • George Washington University; Project Manager Professional Certification, 2000

Total Years of Experience/St. Philip:

  • 38  year(s)/28 year(s), 12 Teaching

Awards/Accomplishments:

  • Best Teacher Award
  • Finalist in the Allan Shepard Technology in Education Award
  • Certified Professional Photographer by The Professional Photographers of America
  • Certified Professional Photographer by The Chicagoland Professional Photographers Association
  • Microsoft MCP Certification
  • Twice awarded Spirit Values Excellence Award
  • Awarded 2016 CLEF Above and Beyond Award
  • Certified Comcast Producer
  • St. Philip Church Member

Ms. Christin Nosko
Elementary Teacher

cnosko@stphiliplutheran.com

Schools Attended

  • Northeastern Illinos University; B.S. Early Education

Total Years of Experience/St. Philip:

  • 4 Year(s)/8 Year(s)

Awards/Accomplishments:

  • One of the first students to enroll in the new St. Philip Preschool
  • St. Philip Graduate
  • St. Philip Church Member

Mrs. Kelly Schau
Elementary Teacher & Music

kschau@stphiliplutheran.com

Schools Attended

  • Luther High School South
  • Concordia University; B.S. Sociology
  • Northeastern Illinois University; Elementary Education Certification

Total Years of Experience/St. Philip:

  • 2 year(s)/2 year(s)

Awards/Accomplishments:

  • VBS Director
  • St. Philip Church Organist
  • St. Philip Church Member

Ms. Nancy Bowman
Middle School Teacher

nbowman@stphiliplutheran.com

Schools Attended

  • Wartburg College; BA in Elementary Education
  • Concordia University; Colloquy

Total Years of Experience/St. Philip:

  • 18 year(s)/1 year(s)

Awards/Accomplishments:

  • Created St. Philip Youth Community
  • St. Philip Church Member

Mrs. Carol Hahn
Middle School Teacher

chahn@stphiliplutheran.com

Schools Attended

  • Valparaiso University; B.S. in Education

Total Years of Experience/St. Philip:

  • 33 year(s)/12 year(s)

Awards/Accomplishments:

  • Listed in Who’s Who Among American Teachers
  • Have taught all ages of students

Mrs. Rachel Stewart
Kindergarten Teacher

rstewart@stphiliplutheran.com